It's official! Governor Peter Shumlin proclaimed the first Water Quality Day as an annual day of acknowledgment in 2014; Governor Phil Scott continued the tradition.


Want to visit a water, wastewater, or stormwater plant?  Contact any of the facilities listed here, or write to Daniel Hecht, GMWEA's executive director, to help locate your nearest facility: dan.hecht@gmwea.org.

When you turn on the tap, where does it come from?  Where does it go when you flush?  Good questions!  Vermonters can find out first-hand on Water Quality Day by visiting a drinking water, wastewater, or stormwater facility.

Water Quality Day

GMWEA initiated Water Quality Day in 2014 to remind Vermonters of the crucial role that drinking water, wastewater, and stormwater management plays in their way of life -- and to honor the boots-on-the-ground professionals who make the miracle happen 24/7/365. 

89 Main St., Suite 4, Montpelier, VT 05602   

State of Vermont
Executive Department
A Proclamation


WHEREAS, Vermont is abundantly blessed with wetlands, streams, rivers, and lakes, including Lake Champlain, a world-renowned, international freshwater resource of great beauty and ecological significance; and

WHEREAS, Vermont’s clean surface waters provide residents and visitors alike with healthful drinking water and recreation in the form of swimming, boating, fishing, and sight-seeing; and

WHEREAS, clean water is critical for the health of wildlife and the ecological systems of the Green Mountain State; and

WHEREAS, the stormwater, wastewater, and drinking water systems and facilities in communities throughout Vermont are the first, most critical barriers against water pollution and the most essential protectors of the public health; and

WHEREAS, the staff who operate stormwater, wastewater, and drinking water systems, 24 hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year are public servants dedicated to protecting public health and the natural environment, and thus deserve the acknowledgement and appreciation of all Vermont citizens; and

WHEREAS, stormwater, wastewater, and drinking water treatment facilities throughout the state will host open houses and offer tours on May 30, 2019, so that Vermonters can learn about this vital, but hidden, infrastructure:

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Philip B. Scott, Governor, do hereby proclaim Thursday, May 30, 2019, as

WATER QUALITY DAY
In Vermont

Water Quality Day 2019 Facility Tours!


On May 30, Vermonters visited a record number of participating facilities on Water Quality Day!  Nineteen sites hosted tours and open houses throughout the state.  Hundreds of people took advantage of the opportunity to see first-hand our amazing water quality infrastructure, and to meet the professionals who keep our water safe 24/7/365.  Thanks are due to all the staff at the following facilities, for taking the time to welcome area residents -- and for the great work they do all year 'round.

Barre  Water Filtration Facility, 164 Reservoir Road, Orange, Vt.  Open house, 8 a.m. – 2 p.m.  Contact: Steve Micheli, assistant director, Dept. of Public Works, (802) 476-0261, smicheli@barrecity.org            

• Bennington  Water Filtration Facility, 1378 Vt. Rt. 9.  Open house 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.  Contact: Larry Gates, assistant director, Department of Public Works, 447-9707, lgates@benningtonvt.org

 • Brandon  Wastewater Treatment Plant, 500 Union Street.  Tours at 10 a.m., 2 p.m., & 6 p.m.  Contact: Stephen Cijka, chief operator, wwtp@townofbrandon.com

• Brattleboro  Wastewater Treatment Plant, 340 Riverside Drive. Open house 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.  Contact: Harvey Dix, chief operator, (802) 257-2318, hdix@brattleboro.org

• Burlington  Wastewater Treatment Plant, 53 Lavalley Lane. Tours at 10 a.m. & 1 p.m.  Contact: Matt Dow, WW facilities manager, (802) 862-6565, mdow@burlingtonvt.gov


Champlain Water District, 403 Queen City Park Rd., South Burlington.  Tours at 8:30 a.m. & 11:30 a.m.  Contact: Mike Barsotti, director, Water Quality & Production, (802) 864-7454, mike.barsotti@champlainwater.org

• Johnson  Wastewater Treatment Plant, 110 Sewer Plant Rd.  Tours at 8 a.m., 11 a.m. & 1 p.m.   Contact: Daniel Copp, chief operator, (802) 888-3138, dan.copp@utilitypartnersllc.com

• Manchester  Wastewater Treatment Plant, 136 Battenkill Lane. Open house 9 a.m. to 2 p.m., tours at 10 a.m. & 1 p.m.  Contact: Eric Severance, Water & Sewer superintendent, (802) 688-4662, e.severance@manchester-vt.gov 

 • Middlebury  Wastewater Treatment Plant, 243 Industrial Ave. Open house 8 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.  Contact: Bob Wells, chief operator, (802) 388-6514, rwells@townofmiddlebury.org

• Montpelier  Water Filtration Facility, 1480 Paine Turnpike, N. Berlin.  Tours at 9 a.m., 10:45 a.m., & 1:15 p.m. Contact: Geoff Wilson, chief operator, (802) 229-1404, bwtf@montpelier-vt.org

Newport  Water Filtration Facility, 1165 Coventry St., AND Wastewater Treatment Plant, 94 Treatment Plant Lane.  Open houses, 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.  Contact: Pedro Grondin, chief operator, pedro.grondin@newportvermont.org

• Randolph  Wastewater Treatment Plant, 18 Hedding Drive. Tours at 10 & 11:15 a.m., & 1 p.m.  Contact: Chris Chambers, WW superintendent, (802) 728-9079, stp01@randolphvt.org

• Rockingham–Bellows Falls  Wastewater Plant, 80 Mill Street. Open house, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.  Contact: Rob Wheeler, chief operator, (802) 463-3044, bfsewer@rockbf.org  

• South Burlington  Wastewater Plant, 1015 Airport Parkway.  Tours at 11:30 a.m. & 2:30 p.m.  Contact: Bob Fischer, water quality superintendent, (802) 658-7964, bob.fischer@gmwea.org

• South Burlington  Stormwater Treatment Facility, Farrell Park, Swift St., South Burlington.  Tours at 10 a.m. & 1 p.m.  Contact: Tom DiPietro, assistant director, Department of Public Works, (802) 658-7961 x 6108, tom.dipietro@gmwea.org

• Stratton  Wastewater Treatment Plant (Winhall-Stratton Fire District #1), 9 Orcutt Meadow Road, Stratton Mtn.  Tours at 10 a.m., 11 a.m., & 1 p.m.  Contact: Margaret Dwyer, senior manager, (802) 297-9592, mdwyer@stratton.com

• Vergennes  Wastewater Treatment Plant, 8 Mechanic Street.  Call for tour information.  Contact: Rick Chaput, WW supervisor, (802) 877-2931, rchaput@vergennes.org


• Wilmington Wastewater Treatment Plant, 59 Fairview Aveneue.  Tours at 10 a.m., 11 a.m., 1 p.m., & 2 p.m.  Contact: John Lazelle, chief operator, (802) 464-3862, jlazelle@wilmingtonvt.us